May 31, 2020

History of The North Ward School
John H. Reagan Elementary

In the fall of 1909 approximately 150 students, eight teachers, one custodian, and Principal Mary Whitfield moved from Randolph Street to the newly constructed North Ward School on Volney Street.  The building had eight classrooms, a basement, and a boiler room.  There was no cafeteria; students brought lunch from home each day.  At that time teachers were not allowed to be married.

Old records show several interesting facts:
*  one third grade class had students from age seven to  14;
*  smallpox and other diseases plagued students;
*  early subjects listed on report cards included Arithmetic, Writing,
  Deportment, Numbers, Reading, Drawing, Physiology-Hygiene, and
 *  Miss Mary Whitfield served as principal from 1904-1941.

Some years later, the school was renamed John H. Reagan Elementary School.  Mr. Reagan (1818-1905) served in the U.S. House of Representatives until Texas seceded from the Union to join the Confederate States of America.  He served under Pres. Jefferson Davis as Secretary of the Treasury and Postmaster General of the C.S.A.  Following the end of the Civil War, Reagan returned to his post in the House of Representatives and eventually was elected to the U.S. Senate.

Reagan Elementary School saw additions or upgrades in 1924, 1953 , and 1999.  As part of the bond passed in November of 2008, Reagan will receive $6,500,000 in renovations including a much needed elevator.

Currently Reagan Elementary has an enrollment of 375 students in PPCD through fifth grade and a faculty of over 60.  In addition to  administrative offices, the campus has over 30 classrooms, a science lab, two computer labs, a library, two teacher workrooms, two gross motor labs, a cafeteria, and a multipurpose building for music and PE.

As we celebrate our centennial, we look fondly upon the past and face the future with pride and great excitement.


Brandy Tyner


Christy Diego 

Karen Clark 2008-2014
Mary Gail Stinnet 2003-2008
Linda Martinez 2001-2003
Pam Wellman 1999-2001
Margaret Ramirez 1998-1999
Joe Padilla 1994-1998
Phil Burroughs 1973-1994
Lucille Harris 1944-1973
Noble Smart 1943-1944
Jack McKay 1941-1943
Mary Whitfield 1909-1941